November 9th, 2019


Old Melodies ...

Old Melodies ...

The Fabulous Shirley Bassey EP (Mono) 1959

Posted: 08 Nov 2019 11:02 AM PST

On Columbia label. 1959 Shirley Bassey EP "The Fabulous Shirley Bassey".
Tracks are: A Foggy Day In London, I've Got |You Under My Skin, Cry Me A
River, April In Paris.

"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free"

Cressida (The Vertigo Years Anthology) 1969-71

Posted: 08 Nov 2019 10:07 AM PST

Cressida was a British progressive rock band, best known for its mellow,
symphonic sound. Originally known as Charge, the band was active from 1968
to 1970, and recorded two albums for Vertigo.The roots of Cressida were
sown in March 1968, when guitarist "Rock & Roll" John Heyworth answered an
advertisement in Melody Maker, and later travelled to London to join The
Dominators, a band whose situation he later described as "hopeless - until
Angus Cullen applied for the lead singer spot". He and Heyworth hit it off
immediately, and Heyworth was invited to stay at Cullen's family flat in
Barkstone Gardens near Earl's Court. The pair settled down to some serious
writing, eventually welcoming bassist Kevin McCarthy and drummer Iain Clark
to the fold and now calling themselves Charge.
The band's early setlists included covers of songs by The Doors ("Spanish
Caravan"), The Drifters ("Save The Last Dance For Me") and Spirit ("Fresh
Garbage"), alongside original compositions by Cullen and Heyworth. In the
Summer of 1969, shortly after returning from a German tour, the band's
organist Lol Coker decided to leave, and moved back to Liverpool to marry
his Swiss girlfriend and take over his father's business. He had stayed
just long enough to play on the band's first demo, which got them a
recording contract with Vertigo Records.
Peter Jennings then joined. "I was auditioned at the Roebuck pub in
Chiswick, a place they sometimes used for rehearsals", he later
remembered. "I imagine we ran through a 12-bar or two and possibly they
tried me out on one of the numbers from their set, but anyway they liked
the way I fitted in and I joined them that day". Jennings' previous musical
experience included blues gigs playing 12-string guitar in tandem with
ex-Paramounts pianist Andy Staines, and (in 1968–69) White Rabbit with
drummer Ron Berg and guitarist Andy Rickell (a.k.a. Android Funnel). After
White Rabbit came to an end, Jennings played with several short-lived bands.
At this point the band settled on the name Cressida. "None of the band
considered Charge that wonderful a name. We decided after some discussion
on a name taken from the William Shakespeare play Troilus and Cressida."
Their first gigs as Cressida were in Germany, including the Star-Club in
Hamburg sharing the bill with Colosseum and East Of Eden, in the Autumn of
1969. Their manager at the time, Mike Rosen, also drove their Transit van
and, being a trumpet player (he later joined Mogul Thrash), occasionally
joined the band on stage for some of their more extended numbers. But Rosen
soon fell out with producer Ossie Byrne (of early Bee Gees fame), and from
that point Mel Baister assumed managerial duties.
Other forays into Europe included a trip to Bratislava in November 1969,
where they performed at the end of a week's competition between various
bands from the Eastern bloc; a week supporting Black Sabbath at Brussels'
Theatre 140; and a performance at the Open Circus (an event held in a large
tent with lion taming, fire eating and other side shows) in Rouen, France,
alongside Brian Auger, Barclay James Harvest, Man and Circus.
Cressida mostly played the university and college circuits, as well as
London clubs such as the Speakeasy, Revolution, Blaises and the Marquee
Club. The first LP was recorded at Wessex Studios with Byrne producing. It
consisted of songs by either Cullen or Heyworth (who handled lead vocals on
one), plus one contribution each by Jennings and Clark.
Cressida went through a difficult phase when Heyworth was forced to leave
in early 1970. Around this time, the band recorded a more commercial track
intended for single release, "Situation", but Vertigo chose not to issue
it. The song is now available on a double-CD release of the band's complete
recordings, The Vertigo Years Anthology 1969-1971.
Heyworth (who would contribute one last piece to the second album, although
he did not play on it) was replaced by John Culley, who had been playing
with Geno Washington. The new line-up recorded Cressida's second LP,
Asylum, later in 1970 (again with Byrne producing, and with orchestral
arrangements by Graeme Hall), but it was released posthumously in 1971, the
band having broken up in September 1970. Noted jazz flautist Harold McNair
guested on the song "Lisa" from the album.
After the band split up, Clark joined Uriah Heep. McCarthy joined
Tranquility as rhythm guitarist and vocalist rather than bassist. Culley
linked up with Black Widow and from 1981–1984, joined Colin Tench to launch
the London six-piece progressive rock band Odin. In 2012 Culley guested on
a debut album by Corvus Stone.
Heyworth died in January 2010. In 2011, three of the four surviving
original members of the band, Angus Cullen, Iain Clark, and Kevin McCarthy
got together again with Peter Jennings. The band were prompted to play a
one-off live gig at The Underworld, Camden Town in London on 2 December
2011. Scottish guitarist Roger Niven joined Cressida and played the reunion
gig. Coinciding with the show was the limited edition release of a vinyl
album of previously unreleased demos that Cressida made before their first
album, since made available in CD form as The Lost Tapes. In September
2013, they appeared at the Melloboat festival in Sweden, on which occasion
Choices, a limited edition LP of archive material personally selected by
Opeth's Mikael Åkerfeldt (a longtime fan of the band) was released.
The band never had any opportunity to play in the United States, since
Mercury chose not to release either album in the US (their two albums were
sold in the US as imports).
Band members
Angus Cullen - lead vocals, acoustic guitar, percussion (1968-1970)Kevin
McCarthy - bass (1968-1970)Iain Clark - drums, percussion (1968-1970)John
Heyworth - guitars, vocals (1968–70)Lol Coker - organ (1968–69)Peter
Jennings - organ, piano (1969–70)John Culley - guitars (1970)Roger Niven -
guitars (2011–present)
1970 - Cressida (Vertigo)
"To Play Your Little Game" (Heyworth) 3:15"Winter Is Coming Again"
(Heyworth) 4:42"Time For Bed" (Cullen) 2:18"Cressida" (Cullen) 3:57"Home
And Where I Long To Be" (Heyworth) 4:04"Depression" (Cullen) 5:02"One Of A
Group" (Jennings) 3:35"Lights In My Mind" (Heyworth) 2:45"The Only Earthman
In Town" (Heyworth) 3:32"Spring '69" (Cullen) 2:14"Down Down" (Heyworth)
4:15"Tomorrow Is a Whole New Day" (Clark) 5:19
1971 - Asylum (Vertigo)
"Asylum" (Cullen) 3:31"Munich" (Jennings) 9:30"Goodbye Post Office Tower
Goodbye" (Cullen) 2:47"Survivor" (Cullen) 1:32"Reprieved" (Jennings)
2:29"Lisa" (Cullen) 5:05"Summer Weekend of A Lifetime" (Cullen) 3:20"Let
Them Come When They Will" (Heyworth) 11:46
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free"