November 4th, 2019


Old Melodies ...

Old Melodies ...

Billy Fury With The Four Jays - The Sound Of Fury LP (1960)

Posted: 03 Nov 2019 03:35 AM PST

The Sound of Fury was the first album released by Billy Fury in 1960. Described as "the best rock & roll album to come out of England's original beat boom of the late 1950s". Fury was arguably the first British rock 'n roll artist to write his own songs, sometimes under the pseudonym Wilbur Wilberforce.
The album was recorded in Decca Studio 3, West Hampstead, London, on 14 April 1960. It featured Joe Brown on guitar, Reg Guest on piano, and bassists Bill Stark or Alan Weighell. Andy White, later to notably appear on The Beatles' first single "Love Me Do", is the drummer on the album. Providing backing vocals were the Four Jays.
The album made the top twenty, reaching position 18 on the UK Albums Chart for a week. It was not well appreciated at the time of its release, but is now regarded as one of the most important early British rock 'n roll albums.
Recorded at the Decca Studio 3, West Hampstead, London, on 14th Apr 1960.
"wilbur wilberforce", credited with writing six of the ten songs, was billy fury; he invented the pseudonym because he "didn't want to seem big-headed". (eye-, or perhaps "ear-" witness, speaking in "the sound of fury" documentary programme on billy fury's life and music.)
A1 That's Love A2 My Advice A3 Phone Call A4 You Don't Know A5 Turn My Back On You B1 Don't Say It's Over B2 Since You've Been Gone B3 It's You I Need B4 Alright, Goodbye B5 Don't Leave Me This Way
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free"
The songs only disappear in their silence ... Here, they will get by ..